ICFO-UNAM International School on the Frontiers of Light: Biophotonics

October 21st, 2019 ICFO-UNAM International School on the Frontiers of Light

ICFO-UNAM International Schools on the Frontiers of Light is a series of schools organized by ICFO - The Institute for Photonic Sciences (SPAIN) and CFATA-UNAM – the Centre for Applied Physics and Advanced Technology of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (MEXICO). The School aims to inspire the next generation of researchers in light sciences and related technologies.

The first edition will be devoted to BIOPHOTONICS and will be held in Querétaro, Mexico.

It will feature experts from ICFO and UNAM, and leading international researchers, in an intensive 1-week course directed to young students wishing to enter the vibrant field of Biophotonics.

Topics covered will include:
  • Fluorescence Imaging: FRET, Confocal, Nonlinear, LSFM.
  • Super resolution imaging: STED, STORM, SIM, FCS, Single particle.
  • Biomedical applications: biosensors, OPT, DCS, Photoacustics.
  • Advanced Bio-applications: Optical tweezers, optogenetics, mechanosensing, neurophotonics.
  • Nano-bio-photonics: nanoparticle-based biosensors
  • Nonlinear Quantum Biophotonics: Multidimensional spectroscopy with quantum light.

Participants will gain a strong understanding of basic concepts, an introduction to the current state of the art in these topics, and have the opportunity to mingle with top scientists from leading institutions.

The school is open to a limited number of participants, selected on the basis of academic merit. Thanks to generous support from the OSA, International Travel Fellowships are available to outstanding applicants. Up to two ICFO Student Research Fellowships may be offered to outstanding to advanced undergraduate or masters students accepted into the school.

  • Turgut Durduran, ICFO
  • María García-Parajo, ICFO
  • Stefan Wieser, ICFO
  • Michael Krieg, ICFO
  • Pablo Loza, ICFO
  • Roberto León-Montiel, Instituto de Ciencias Nucleares, UNAM
  • Remy Avila, Centro de Física Aplicada y Tecnología Avanzada, UNAM
  • Ataúlfo Martínez, Instituto de Neurobiología, UNAM
  • Christopher Wood, Instituto de Biotecnología, UNAM
  • Rubén Ramos García, INAOE

Scientific Organisers: Dr. Pablo Loza-Alvarez, (ICFO), Dr. Remy Avila (UNAM) Dr. Robert Sewell (ICFO), Dr. Jorge Luis Domínguez-Juárez (UNAM).