June 18th, 2019 Symposium, June 18, 2019, 08:55. ICFO’s Auditorium

ORQUID in ICFO" is a symposium on the prospects of organic molecules and materials for quantum technologies.

Our paneuropean consortium gathered under the QuantERA initiative is exploring the exciting new possibility of using single organic molecules as the interface between photons, electrons, phonons. First, single molecules will interact with light in waveguides and cavities to generate and detect single photons, providing immediate impact in quantum photonics. Second, single molecules will detect single moving charges in nano-electronic circuits to provide quantum coherent information exchange between these charges and the external world. Third, molecules embedded in nanomechanical devices and two-dimensional materials will measure nanoscale forces and displacements, which are key to developing mechanical quantum systems and understanding nano-machinery. By developing these three interfaces on a common platform, we will create a versatile hybrid system. By allowing the user to draw simultaneously on the most sensitive quantum aspects of light, charge and sound, we anticipate that this hybrid will be a major advance in the technology of quantum devices.

In Barcelona ORQUID will meet major players in the field, including scientists and companies, bringing the discussion to a broader scientific community and beyond, to potential end-users.

Invited Speakers:
  • Sylvain Combrié (Thales Research & Technology France
  • Jessie Qin-Dregely (Single Quantum)
  • Jean-Sebastien Lauret (Laboratoire Aimé Cotton, ENS Paris Saclay)
  • Vahid Sandoghdar (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light)
  • Deborah Prezzi (CNR-NANO)
  • Nicola Palombo (ICFO)
  • Ilja Gerhardt (Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart)
  • Samuele Grandi (ICFO)

ORQUID members:
  • Costanza toninelli (coordinator-CNR NANO)
  • Michel Orrit (University of Leiden)
  • Alex Clark (imperial College)
  • Ed Hinds (imperial College)
  • Frank Koppens (ICFO)
  • Wolfram Pernice (University of Münster)
  • Andre Gourdon (CEMES)
  • Boleslaw Kozankiewicz (IFPAN)