14 November 2011 FOM Thesis Prize 2011

Dr. Klaas-Jan Tielrooij

ICFO postdoctoral researcher Klaas-Jan Tielrooij awarded by FOM for a thesis on ultrafast dynamics of water molecules. The Foundation for Fundamental Research on Matter (FOM) awarded Dr. Klaas-Jan Tielrooij for succeeding “with his doctoral research in changing our thinking about the effects of solutions in water.\" Klaas carried out his research in the FOM-Institute AMOLF under the supervision of Prof. Huib Bakker and Prof. Mischa Bonn. From 2011 he is a postdoctoral researcher at ICFO in the groups led by Prof. Frank Koppens and ICREA Prof. Niek van Hulst.

The FOM Physics Thesis Award is given once per year to a PhD student in the field covered by FOM, an autonomous foundation responsible for the physics division of the national research council of the Netherlands (NWO).

Congratulations, Klaas!