29 July 2014 UPC PhD Thesis Awards

Dr. Chaitanya Kumar Suddapalli

The UPC recognizes Dr. Chaitanya Kumar Suddapalli with the 2014 Extraordinary PhD Thesis Award. The Extraordinary PhD Awards, given anually by the Technical University of Catalonia (UPC), aim to recognize the best doctoral theses that have been presented during the previous two years, and which have obtained \"cum laude\" in their final PhD defense evaluation.

This year, the UPC announced the list of 30 awardees, which includes Dr. Chaitanya Kumar Suddapalli’s thesis among the list of extraordinary doctoral works defended during the years 2011 and 2012.

Dr. Suddapalli obtained an MSc in Physics from the Indian Institute of Technology at Guwahati, India. In 2007 he joined ICFO at the Optical Parametric Oscillators group led by ICREA Prof. Majid Ebrahim-Zadeh to work on a project related to optical frequency conversion systems. In 2012, he concluded his doctoral work defending his thesis entitled “High-Power, Fiber-Laser-Pumped Optical Parametric Oscillators from Visible to Mid-Infrared”, which was also recognized with the 2013 ICFO PhD Thesis Award.

In 2011, former ICFOnian Giovanni Volpe received this distinction through the Applied Physics doctoral program, but this year it is the first time that an ICFO doctoral work enrolled in the Photonics doctoral program receives this distinction.

The award ceremony will be held on September 23, 2014, as part of the inauguration of the academic year 2014-2015.

Congratulations Chaitanya for this outstanding award!